ACTIVATED CHARCOAL

Definition and history

Activated carbon is an inert microporous carbon which has undergone a treatment to increase its surface area. It thus has a very large specific surface area which can range from 100 to 2000 m².g-1, hence its high adsorption capacity.

The exploitation of the filtering properties of charcoal for purification and medicine began with the Egyptians in the year 1500 BC. As for the ancient Hindus, they already filtered their water with coals to make it drinkable.

The industrialization of activated carbon proper began at the beginning of the 20th century to meet the needs of sugar refineries. The activated carbon is then used as a bleach.

The production of activated carbon intensified during the First World War due to the proliferation of toxic gases and the development of gas masks. Today, the annual world production of activated carbon reaches 420,000 tonnes.  

License Thesis  Material Sciences Chemistry Sector

GUERRADI Ismahane HECHACHNA Aicha

Manufacturing

Activated charcoal can be produced from any organic plant material rich in carbon: bark, wood pulp , coconut shells, peanut shells, olive kernels, or  coalpeatlignite tailings  oil tankers.

 

The production is broken down into two stages:

  • A first stage of calcination or carbonization or thermolysis, at high temperature, of the constituent products. A first porosity is created by this step. In fact, the elements, other than carbon, leave pores in the carbon matrix when they volatilize.

​​

  • A second activation step is to increase the power  adsorbent .

Charbon actif
Sectors of use
Sectors of use
Uses activated carbon

Charbon actif

Définition et histoire

Le charbon actif est un carbone microporeux inerte qui a subi un traitement pour augmenter sa surface. Il possède ainsi une très grande surface spécifique pouvant aller de 100 à 2000 m².g-1 d'où sa grande capacité d'adsorption.

L'exploitation des propriétés filtrantes du charbon de bois pour la purification et en médecine débute avec les Égyptiens en l'an 1500 avant Jésus Christ. Quant aux anciens hindous, ils filtraient déjà leur eau avec des charbons pour la rendre potable.

L'industrialisation du charbon actif proprement dit commence au début du XXème siècle pour répondre aux besoins des raffineries de sucre. Le charbon actif est alors utilisé comme décolorant.

La production des charbons actifs s'intensifie pendant la première guerre mondiale en raison de la prolifération des gaz toxiques et du développement des masques à gaz. Aujourd'hui, la production mondiale annuelle en charbons actifs atteint 420 000 tonnes. 

Mémoire de Licence  Sciences de la matière Filière Chimie

GUERRADI Ismahane HECHACHNA Aicha

Fabrication

Le charbon actif peut être produit à partir de toute matière organique végétale riche en carbone : écorce, pâte de bois, coques de noix de coco, coques de cacahuètes, noyaux d'olives, ou bien de houilletourbelignite, résidus pétroliers.

 

La fabrication se décompose en deux étapes :

  • Une première étape de calcination ou carbonisation ou thermolyse, à forte température, des produits constituants. Une première porosité est créée par cette étape, en effet les éléments, autres que le carbone, laissent des pores dans la matrice carbonée lorsqu'ils se volatilisent ;

  • Une deuxième étape d'activation consiste à augmenter le pouvoir adsorbant.

Charbon actif
Secteurs d'utilisation
Utilisations charbon actif.png